Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Updates

Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

Events

Yearly View
View as List
Monthly View
By Month
Weekly View
By Week
Daily View
Today
Search
Search

Yearly View

2020
January, 2020

Monday, January 27, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Rachael Bonoan - Tufts University

Location: MBB 1.210

February, 2020

Monday, February 03, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Joshua Gendron - Yale University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 10, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Molly Schumer - Stanford

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 17, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Jenny Tung - Duke

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 24, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Rachel Vannette - UC Davis

Location: MBB 1.210

March, 2020

Monday, March 02, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Kim Cooper - UC San Diego

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 09, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar- Andy Alverson - University of Arkansas

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, March 10, 2020 11:00am - 12:00pm
IB Seminar - Dr. Arbel Harpak, Columbia University
Interpreting and deconstructing polygenic scores
Dr. Arbel Harpak
Simons Society Fellow, Columbia University

A polygenic score is a predictor of a person’s trait value computed from his or her genotype. Polygenic scores sum over the genetic effects of the alleles carried by a person—as estimated in a genome-wide association study (GWAS) for the trait of interest. Fields as diverse as clinical risk classification, evolutionary genetics, social sciences and embryo selection are rapidly adopting polygenic scores.

I will show that the prediction accuracy of polygenic scores can be highly sensitive to tiny biases in GWAS effect estimates, and further that the prediction accuracy of polygenic scores depends on characteristics such as the socio-economic status, age or sex of the people in which the GWAS and the prediction are conducted. These dependencies highlight the complexities of interpreting polygenic scores and the potential for serious inequities in their application in the clinic and beyond.

A key reason for these dependencies is in the fact that GWAS estimates are also influenced by factors other than direct genetic effects—including population structure confounding, mating patterns, indirect genetic effects of relatives and other gene-by-environment interactions. I will discuss the development of tools to tease apart the different factors contributing to GWAS associations, and ultimately improve the prediction ability and our interpretation of polygenic scores.

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 23, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB Seminar- Anurag Agrawal - Cornell University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 30, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: PB Seminar- Dr. Larry York, Noble Foundation, Ardmore Oklahoma

Location: MBB 1.210

April, 2020

Monday, April 06, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB Seminar- Darcy Kelley - Columbia University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 13, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB Seminar- Diane Debinski - Montana State

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 20, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB Seminar- Ximena Bernal - Purdue

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 27, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB/Jean Andrews Seminar- Dr. Susanne Renner

Location: MBB 1.210

May, 2020

Monday, May 04, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
CANCELLED: IB/PB Seminar- Jessica Blois - UC Merced

Location: MBB 1.210

September, 2020

Monday, September 14, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Larry York - Noble Institute

Monday, September 21, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - OPEN

Monday, September 28, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Thiago Rangel - Universidade Federal de Goiás

Location: Zoom (Online)

October, 2020

Monday, October 05, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Carrie Branch - Cornell Lab of Ornithology

Monday, October 12, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Shana Caro - UT Austin, SW Scholar

Monday, October 19, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - OPEN

Monday, October 26, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Jessica Blois - UC Merced

November, 2020

Monday, November 02, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Chase Smith - UT Austin, SW Scholar

Monday, November 16, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Tom Bytnerowicz - UT Austin, SW Scholar

Monday, November 23, 2020 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB/PB Seminar - Jessica Metcalf - Princeton

Download the IB Calendar ics file for use on your own calendar. Or right click and get the url of the calendar to import into your calendar system of choice.

Request a Seminar Speaker