Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Events

Yearly View
View as List
Monthly View
By Month
Weekly View
By Week
Daily View
Today
Search
Search

Yearly View

2015
January, 2015

Friday, January 16, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Astrid Böhne, University of Basel in Switzerland
SEMINAR TITLE: Title: Genetic sex determination in cichlids: Comparative transcriptomics and hints for an XX-XY system in Astatotilapia burtoni
Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, January 22, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Ryan Earley - University of Alabama
SEMINAR TITLE: Swamps, sex, and a dash of salt: extreme plasticity in a self-fertilizing hermaphrodite

HOST: Hans Hofmann
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, January 23, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Discussion/Debate
Gould and Lewontin. 1979. The Spandrels of San Marco and the Panglossian Paradigm: A Critique of the Adaptationist Programme. Proc R Soc Lond B 205:581-598
Location: POB 2.402

Monday, January 26, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, January 29, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Thomas Turner - University of California, Santa Barbara
SEMINAR TITLE: "Natural variation in behavior: finding the genes, and learning from them, in Drosophila"

HOST: Dan Bolnick
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, January 30, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Nature, Nurture and Epigenetics; David Crews; Philosophy Seminar
Nature, Nurture and Epigenetics Philosophy Seminar ; David Crews

Location: Wagner 316

February, 2015

Monday, February 02, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Dr. S. Hollis Woodard; University of Texas
SEMINAR TITLE: "Molecular tools and bumble bees: Revealing hidden details of behavior, ecology and evolution in a model system"
Location: NHB 1.720

Tuesday, February 03, 2015 09:00am - 11:00am
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 141SA

Thursday, February 05, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Greg Sword; Texas A&M
SEMINAR TITLE: "Integrative Biology in Cotton Agro-ecosystems."

HOST: Steve Phelps
Location: NHB 1.720

Saturday, February 07, 2015 08:30am - 06:00pm
Spring Symposium
Spring Symposium
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 09, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Dr. Luke Mahler; University of Toronto
SEMINAR TITLE: "Ecology and the evolution of morphological diversity in radiations of Anolis lizards"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, February 12, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Christopher Dick - University of Michigan
SEMINAR TITLE: "The Role of the Andes in Neotropical Plant Diversification”

HOST: Beryl Simpson
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 13, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Michael Reilly; Gore Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "The effects of gestational PCB exposure on adult social behavior in rats"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 16, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Fernando Mateos Gonzalez; Ryan Lab
SEMINAR TITLE: "The Colors of Choice: Function and Evolution of plumage coloration"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, February 19, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Franz Goller, Univeristy of Utah
SEMINAR TITLE: 'Motor replay during sleep - a "dreamcatcher" for silent night-time song in birds'

HOST: Julia Clarke
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 20, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Tessa Solomon-Lane; Hofmann Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: The causes and consequences of variation in agonistic behavior in the bluebranded goby (Lythrypnus dalli)
Location: POB 2.402

Monday, February 23, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Dr. Arnaud Bataille; Seoul National University
SEMINAR TITLE: "Disease-associated changes in MHC variant frequencies in Tungara frog (Physalameus pustulosus) populations"

HOST: Dr. Mike Ryan
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, February 26, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Luis Barreiro; University of Montreal
SEMINAR TITLE: "Genomic studies of adaptive traits in humans: The evolution of the Pygmy phenotype and innate immune responses to infection"

HOST: Deborah A. Bolnick
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 27, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Viktoria Topper; Gore Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "Integrative analysis of EDC effects in the developing hypothalamus: adult behaviors and neural networks"
Location: MBB 1.210

March, 2015

Monday, March 02, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Michele Johnson ; Trinity University, San Antonio
SEMINAR TITLE: "Behavioral convergence in Caribbean lizards: morphological and physiological mechanisms"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, March 05, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
HOST:
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 06, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Miriam Okhovat; Phelps Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "Cads and Dads: Mapping genotype to phenotype among prairie voles"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 09, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, March 12, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Bruce Hay; California Institute of Technology
SEMINAR TITLE: "Engineering the composition and fate of wild populations"

HOST: Jim Bull
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 13, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 16, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
SPRING BREAK


Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, March 19, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
SPRING BREAK

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 20, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
SPRING BREAK


Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 23, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, March 26, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Christina Grozinger, Pennsylvania State University
SEMINAR TITLE: "Genomics of cooperation and conflict in social insects"

HOST: Ulrich Mueller
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 27, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Tori Nutsch; Dominguez Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "Aging and Estradiol; regulation of transcription
and behavior in males"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 30, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

April, 2015

Thursday, April 02, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Robert Ricklefs, University of Missouri St. Louis
SEMINAR TITLE: “Intrinsic dynamics of the regional community”

HOST: Mike Ryan
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 03, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 06, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
OPEN
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, April 09, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. John Swaddle, William and Mary
SEMINAR TITLE: “Far from the deafening crowd: The effects of noise pollution on songbirds”

HOST: Mike Ryan
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 10, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ross Gillette; Crews Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "Exploring the role of steroid hormone receptors in primordial germ cell reprogramming"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 13, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Genevieve Smith; Insight Data Science
SEMINAR TITLE:
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, April 16, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Marcus Kronforst; University of Chicago
SEMINAR TITLE: "The genetics of butterfly mimicry and migration"

HOST: Tom Juenger
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 17, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Rayna Harris; Hofmann Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: Integrated molecular and synaptic mechanismd of hippocampal learning and memory
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 20, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Institute for Neuroscience Ph.D defense

Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, April 23, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Sabrina Burmesiter, University of North Carolina
SEMINAR TITLE: "Do frogs have a cognitive map?"

HOST: Steve Phelps
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 24, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Yuiko Matsumoto; Crews Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: "Gonadal aromatase (cyp19a1) expression is controlled through epigenetic mechanisms in a species with temperature-dependent sex determination"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 27, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Owen Gilbert; UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: “What inclusive fitness theory is"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, April 30, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Dr. Michael Nachman, University of California at Berkeley
SEMINAR TITLE: "The genetic basis of adaptation and speciation in house mice"

HOST: Nancy Moran
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, April 30, 2015 06:00pm - 08:00pm
Travis Audubon Society Presents: Lecture by Chief Scientist, National Audubon Society, Gary Langham "National Audubon's New Climate Report: The Dangers Birds Fare in a Warming World."
Travis Audubon Society Presents: Lecture by Chief Scientist, National Audubon Society, Gary Langham "National Audubon's New Climate Report: The Dangers Birds Fare in a Warming World."
April 30, from 6-8pm
Location: TCC - Thompson Conference Center

May, 2015

Friday, May 01, 2015 08:00am - 05:00pm
Jan Mennigen; Gore Lab, UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: TBA
Location: MBB 1.210

August, 2015

Friday, August 28, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Tom Brekke; University of Montana
SEMINAR: “Disrupted imprinting, the large X effect and extreme hybrid overgrowth in hamsters”
HOST: Dr. Steve Phelps
Location: MBB 1.210

September, 2015

Thursday, September 03, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - David Houle; Florida State University
TITLE: "From Genotype to Phenotype in the Drosophila Wing"
HOST: Dr. Mark Kirkpatrick
Location: NHB 7.120

Friday, September 04, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Floria Mora-Kepfer; University of Miami
SEMINAR: “Cooperation, conflict and plasticity during colony founding in primitively eusocial wasps”
HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 07, 2015 08:00am - 05:00pm
LABOR DAY

Thursday, September 10, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Greg Wray; Duke University
SEMINAR TITLE: “Evolving a big brain: not so easy” HOST: Dr. Steve Phelps
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 11, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Jianguo Cui; UT Austin, Ryan Lab
SEMINAR: “Sound communication in Emei music frog”
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 14, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Dr. Mike Ryan; University of Texas at Austin
SEMINAR: 'sexual selection and the brain'
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, September 17, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Albert Uy; University of Miami
SEMINAR TITLE:"On the origin of species on islands: Genomic and behavioral studies of diversification in flycatchers of the Solomon Islands" HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 18, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Albert Uy; University of Miami
SEMINAR: "The Maintenance of Color Polymorphism in a Pentamorphic Fish" HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann / Dr. Molly Cummings
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 21, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Alexis Biling; University of Montana
SEMINAR: The ecology and evolution of avian alarm call signaling systems HOST: Dr. Mike Ryan
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, September 24, 2015 09:00am - 05:00pm
LLILAS Symposium - Caribbean Coral Reefs at Risk
Hosed by the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies & Dept. of Geography and the Environment
Location: (UNB) 3.116 - Texas Governors' Room Texas Union

Thursday, September 24, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Ryan Gregory; University of Guelph
SEMINAR TITLE: Animal Genomes Large and Small HOST: Dr. David Hillis
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 25, 2015 09:00am - 05:00pm
LLILAS Symposium - Caribbean Coral Reefs at Risk
Hosed by the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies & Dept. of Geography and the Environment
Location: (UNB) 3.116 - Texas Governors' Room Texas Union

Friday, September 25, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Tim Rowe; UT Austin, School of Geological Sciences
SEMINAR:“The Role of Ortho-Retronasal Olfaction in Mammalian Cortical Evolution" HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 28, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Dr. David Hillis; University of Texas at Austin
SEMINAR: Spring and Cave Salamanders of the Edwards Plateau: Evolution, Conservation, and Politics
Location: NHB 1.720

October, 2015

Thursday, October 01, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Flavio Roces; University of Würzburg
SEMINAR TITLE: "Plant selection by leaf-cutting ants: decision-making by foragers and quality control through the symbiotic fungus" HOST: Dr. Ulrich Mueller WEBSITE: http://www.zoo2.biozentrum.uni-wuerzburg.de/en/research/behavioral_ecology_flavio_roces/
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 02, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Ben Clites; UT Austin, Pierce-Shimomura Lab
SEMINAR: “Towards understanding the evolutionary basis for geomagnetotaxis in C. elegans”
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 05, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Dr. Ulrich Mueller; University of Texas at Austin
SEMINAR: "Artificial Selection on Microbiomes to Improve Animal and Plant Health"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, October 08, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Peter Sorensen; University of Minnesota
SEMINAR TITLE: Hormonal pheromones in fish: how specialized are they? HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann / Meghan Still
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 09, 2015 11:00am - 12:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Peter Sorensen; University of Minnesota
SEMINAR: “Differing effects of androgens on courtship, mating and olfactory function in the sexaully-bipotential goldfish?” HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 12, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Amanda Perofsky; University of Texas at Austin
SEMINAR: Social networks shape gut microbial communities in wild Verreaux’s sifaka
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, October 15, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Dr. Dustin Rubenstein; Columbia University
SEMINAR TITLE: Social structure and reproductive conflict in animal societies: from birds to underwater bees HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 16, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Dustin Rubenstein; Columbia University
SEMINAR: "Adaptation to environmental variation: integrating behavior and mechanism" HOST: Dr. Hans Hofmann
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 19, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Population Biology Seminar - David Hembry; University of Arizona
SEMINAR: Island biogeography of coevolution: diversification and community assembly in a plant-insect brood pollination mutualism in Polynesia
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, October 22, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Dr. Olen Kew; Center for Disease Control
SEMINAR TITLE: "Polio: Coming to the End of the Trail" HOST: Dr. Jim Bull
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 23, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Luke Reding; University of Texas at Austin; Cummings Lab
SEMINAR: "Mating preferences and decision rules in swordtails"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 26, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Spencer Wells
SEMINAR: "The Human Journey: A Personal Odyssey" Host: Claus Wilke
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, October 29, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar -Sarah Woolley; McGill University
SEMINAR TITLE: "Social influences on the production and perception of songbird vocal signals" HOST: Dr. Steve Phelps
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 30, 2015 08:00am - 05:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Jon Sakata; McGill University
SEMINAR: "Comparative and circuit-based analyses of social influences on vocal communication"

HOST: Dr. Steve Phelps

November, 2015

Monday, November 02, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Emlyn Resetarits & Tracy Burkhard; UT Austin
SEMINAR: TBA Host:
Location: NHB 1.720

Tuesday, November 03, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB FACULTY MEETING

Location: PAT 141SA

Thursday, November 05, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Steve Bellan; UT Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: Modeling epidemiological study design: Addressing biases in HIV infectivity estimates and planning an Ebola vaccine trial. Host: Dr. Lauren Meyers
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 06, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Sean Maguire; University of Texas at Austin; Hofmann Lab
SEMINAR: "The role of the melanocortin hormone system in metamorphosis of anadromic and landlocked Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar)"
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 09, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Egbert Leigh; Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama
SEMINAR: The Last Evolutionary Transition: Evolution of conceptual thought Host: Dr. Mike Ryan
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, November 12, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Britt Koskella; UC-Berkeley
SEMINAR TITLE: "Bacteria-phage interactions within long-lived hosts" HOST: Dr. Daniel Bolnick
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 13, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Mirjam Amcoff; UT Austin, Ryan Lab
SEMINAR: TBA
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 16, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Dr. Pim Edelaar; University Pablo de Olavide, Sevilla, Spain
SEMINAR: Host: Dr. Daniel Bolnick
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, November 19, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Lisa McGraw; NCSU
SEMINAR TITLE: Uncovering the neurogenetic architecture of individual variation in socio-sexual behaviors. HOST: Dr. Molly Cummings
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 20, 2015 12:00am - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Lisa McGraw; North Carolina State university
SEMINAR: "Characterizing changes in female post-mating behavior, physiology, and neurogenetics as a consequence of mating" HOST: Dr. Molly Cummings
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 23, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Chad Smith; UT Austin
SEMINAR: "Sex and the Microbiome"
Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, November 26, 2015
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Friday, November 27, 2015
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Saturday, November 28, 2015
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Sunday, November 29, 2015
THANKSGIVING BREAK

Monday, November 30, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Pop Bio Seminar - Andrius Dagilis; UT Austin and Ashley Green: UT Austin
SEMINAR: Andrius Dagalis "Prezygotic Isolation, Mating Preference and the Evolution of Chromosomal Inversions" and Ashley Green "Demographic Heterogeneity of an Invasive Plant"
Location: NHB 1.720

December, 2015

Tuesday, December 01, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB FACULTY MEETING

Location: PAT 141SA

Thursday, December 03, 2015 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Seminar - Ed Theriot; University of Texas at Austin
SEMINAR TITLE: HOST:
Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, December 04, 2015 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Mariana Rodriguez Santiago; Univeristy of Texas at Austin; Hofmann Lab
SEMINAR: "On the neurobiological mechanisms of social learning"
Location: MBB 1.210

Friday, December 04, 2015 12:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Holiday Party

Location: Patterson 141 Suite

Download the IB Calendar ics file for use on your own calendar. Or right click and get the url of the calendar to import into your calendar system of choice.

Request a Seminar Speaker