Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Resources Calendar

Yearly View
View as List
Monthly View
By Month
Weekly View
By Week
Daily View
Today
Search
Search

Yearly View

2018
January, 2018

Monday, January 15, 2018
MLK HOLIDAY - UT CLOSED

Tuesday, January 16, 2018
CLASSES BEGIN - SPRING 2018

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, January 18, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Misha Matz

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, January 19, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, January 22, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Seminar-Dr. Susan Harrison, UC Davis

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, January 24, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar-Emlyn Resetarits

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, January 25, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Alice MacQueen

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, January 26, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Abbas Bukhari (UIUC)

Location: MBB 1.210

Saturday, January 27, 2018 08:00am - 05:00pm
IB Faculty Retreat

Monday, January 29, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Seminar-Dr. Brett Baker, UT MSI

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar - Tim Keitt

Location: PAT 142

February, 2018

Thursday, February 01, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Martial Ndeffo Mbah, Yale

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 02, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Jon Cavanaugh, University of Nebraska

Location: PAT 142

Tuesday, February 06, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, February 07, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar- Yoel Stuart

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, February 08, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Mike Kaspari, University of Oklahoma

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 09, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Luke Reding, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 12, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Daniel S. Karp, University of California, Davis

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar - Shalene Jha

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, February 15, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Kelly Wallace

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, February 15, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Amelia Wolf, Columbia University

Location: MBB 1.210

Friday, February 16, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
PB Seminar-Dr. Pamela Ronald, UC Davis

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, February 19, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Brian Silliman, Duke University

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar - Ashley Green

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, February 22, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Felicity Muth, University of Nevada, Reno

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, February 23, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Morgan Gustison

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

March, 2018

Thursday, March 01, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Sara Freeman, University of California, Davis

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 02, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Sarah Price, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 05, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Dr. Jeff Doyle, Cornell University

Location: PAT 142

Tuesday, March 06, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, March 07, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar-Gautam Surya

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, March 08, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Matthew Fuxjager, Wake Forest University

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, March 09, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Parrish Brady, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 12, 2018
SPRING BREAK

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
SPRING BREAK

Wednesday, March 14, 2018
SPRING BREAK

Thursday, March 15, 2018
SPRING BREAK

Friday, March 16, 2018
SPRING BREAK

Monday, March 19, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Peter Chesson, University of Arizona

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, March 20, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar-Emily Rees

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, March 22, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Elizabeth Hobson, Santa Fe Institute

Location: NHB 1.720

Thursday, March 22, 2018 05:00pm
Carol Baldwin, Smithsonian Institution
Open to the Public
Location: SAC Ballroom

Friday, March 23, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Elinor Lichtenberg, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, March 26, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Seminar: Jason Gallant, Michigan State University

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Field courses committee

Location: PAT 142

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Field Courses Committee-Tim Keitt

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, March 29, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Recruitment Seminar: Dr. Sarah Kocher, Princeton

Location: MBB 1.210

Friday, March 30, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Jason Ikpatt, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

April, 2018

Monday, April 02, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Seminar-Dr. Katie Wagner, University of Wyoming

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 02, 2018 04:30pm - 05:30pm
Austin Science Advocates

Location: PAT 142

Tuesday, April 03, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, April 04, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, April 05, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Dr. Tom Juenger

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 06, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Cancelled

Location: MBB 1.210

Sunday, April 08, 2018 11:00am - 02:00pm
Jean Andrews Public Outreach Talk: Dr. Laura Burkle, Montana State University

Location: Wildflower Center

Monday, April 09, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
Jean Andrews Lecture Series: Dr. Laura Burkle, Montana State University

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, April 12, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Dr. Dan Bolnick

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 13, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Yasmin Shirali, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 16, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Dr. Lin Chao, University of California at San Diego

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 09:00am - 10:00am
EEB Defense - Gautam Surya

Location: BIO 214

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, April 19, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Dr. Owen Gilbert

Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, April 19, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
EEB Defense - Luke Reding

Location: PAT 142

Friday, April 20, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Isaac Miller Crews, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 23, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Seminar - Dr. Kevin Lafferty, UC Santa Barbara

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, April 26, 2018 01:15pm - 02:15pm
EEB Defense - Amanda Perofsky

Location: POB 2.402

Thursday, April 26, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Dr. Eugene V. Shakirov, UT Austin

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, April 27, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Caitlin Friesen, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, April 30, 2018 10:00am - 11:00am
EEB Defense - Sarah Cusser

Location: PAT 142

Monday, April 30, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
EEB Defense - Spencer Fox

Location: NHB 1.720

Monday, April 30, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Julien Ayroles, Princeton University

Location: MBB 1.210

May, 2018

Tuesday, May 01, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, May 02, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, May 03, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Lacey Knowles, University of Michigan
Abstract. — From the patterns of genomic variation in individuals living today, phylogeographic analyses provide a window into a species’ past. When viewed in a comparative context, examples of concordant genetic structure across assemblages of species, despite their biological difference, have reinforced a conceptual and methodological focus on abiotic factors in shaping species’ histories. This emphasis has also promoted an adherence to generic expectations of phylogeographic concordance irrespective of the composition of communities and a tendency to attribute discord to the idiosyncracies of history. However, from the increased sampling densities and unprecedented amounts of genomic data, what is emerging in comparative phylogeography is a complex of concordant and discordant genetic structure across community members.
In my talk, and with reference to computational advances and recent developments at the molecular level, I will highlight how discordant patterns of genetic variation may arise from difference in the traits and ecologies of taxa. That is, discord across species may reflect deterministic processes linked to species-specific traits. In addition to reviewing the methodologies that are propelling this promising area of research, and based on examples of comparative phylogeographic studies, I will show how considering the contribution of taxon-specific traits, rather than adhering to the concordance-discordance dichotomy, can provide more meaningful insights about the evolutionary history of organisms. These include results from (i) an analysis of endemic beetles across the Greek islands to test the role of sea-level change as a driver of divergence, and (ii) a test of how microhabitat differences mediate the impact of climate change in montane sedges from the Southern Rocky Mountains. Considered together, these studies emphasize that to understand how the divergence process may differ among geographic regions, or why genetic structure may differ among members of communities, the biotic and abiotic effects need to be considered jointly.

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, May 04, 2018
LAST CLASS DAY - SPRING 2018

Friday, May 04, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BBE SEMINAR - Phil Queller, UT

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, May 09, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch Seminar

Location: PAT 142

Friday, May 11, 2018 02:00pm - 04:00pm
IB Photo Contest/IB Awards

Location: PAT 141 Common Area

Tuesday, May 29, 2018 11:00am - 12:00pm
EEB Defense - Austin Reynolds

Location: NHB 1.720

July, 2018

Wednesday, July 04, 2018 08:00am - 05:00pm
INDEPENDENCE DAY - UT HOLIDAY

August, 2018

Thursday, August 09, 2018 01:00pm - 02:00pm
PB Defense - Yanpeng Xi

Location: NMS 5.106

Wednesday, August 29, 2018
1st Class Day-Fall 2018

Thursday, August 30, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO Seminar - Misha Matz Promotion Seminar

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, August 31, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Hans Hofmann

Location: MBB 1.210

September, 2018

Monday, September 03, 2018
Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday, September 04, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, September 05, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, September 06, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO Seminar - Steve Phelps Promotion Seminar

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 07, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E Seminar - Joel Tripp, Cornell University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 10, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, September 13, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO Seminar - OPEN

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 14, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Steven Phelps

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 17, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, September 20, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO Seminar - Dr. Sarah Schaak, Reed College

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 21, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Jill Pruetz, Texas State University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, September 24, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Hannah Kim Frank, Stanford University

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, September 27, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO Seminar - OPEN

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, September 28, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Elliot Tucker-Drob

Location: MBB 1.210

October, 2018

Monday, October 01, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, October 02, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Wednesday, October 03, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, October 04, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Colin Averill

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 05, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR- Sarah Wooley, McGill University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 08, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 10:00am - 11:00am
EEB Defense - Kim Ballare

Location: BIO 118

Thursday, October 11, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR- Owen Gilbert

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 12, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Jon Sakata, McGill University

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 15, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Dr. Gerry Carter, Ohio State University

Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, October 18, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Ryan Weaver, Auburn University

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 19, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Michael Drew

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 22, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Michael Sheehan, Cornell University

Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, October 25, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Egbert Leigh, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, October 26, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Kelly Wallace

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, October 29, 2018 01:00pm - 02:00pm
EEB Defense - Maryska Kaczmarek

Location: BME 3.204

Monday, October 29, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
Ecolunch
Understanding individual variance in context: A comparison of reared and wild-caught Heliconius butterfly chemical profiles

Colin Morrison

November, 2018

Thursday, November 01, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Caroline Farrior

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 02, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Sarah Price

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 05, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, November 06, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, November 08, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Rob Heckman

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 09, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Lisa O'Bryan, Rice University
Title:

Host: Mike Ryan
Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 12, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, November 15, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Jason Sardell

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 16, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
PB Defense - Juan Palacio Mejia

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 16, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Logan James

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, November 19, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR - Alisha Shah

Location: MBB 1.210

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - Friday, November 23, 2018
Thanksgiving Holiday

Monday, November 26, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB & PB Seminar - OPEN

Location: MBB 1.210

Thursday, November 29, 2018 11:00am - 12:00pm
EEB Defense - Andria Salas

Location: BME 3.204

Thursday, November 29, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Nick Crouch

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, November 30, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR - Tracy Burkhard

Location: MBB 1.210

December, 2018

Monday, December 03, 2018 03:00pm - 04:00pm
IB SEMINAR- Scott Edwards, Harvard University

Location: MBB 1.210

Tuesday, December 04, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
IB Faculty Meeting

Location: PAT 142

Thursday, December 06, 2018 02:00pm - 03:00pm
POPBIO SEMINAR - Tobin Hammer

Location: NHB 1.720

Friday, December 07, 2018 12:00pm - 01:00pm
BB&E SEMINAR- Harold Zakon

Location: MBB 1.210

Monday, December 10, 2018
Last Class Day - Fall 2018